woori yuna

Fly, Yuna! Fly!

Posted in coach, competitions, pictures by wooriyuna on February 7, 2009
Yuna Kim 4CC Short Program

Yuna Kim · 4CC Short Program

Our cheers for Yuna must have worked! 김연아 파이팅! Yuna fighting!

From start

Beginning Pose

Beginning Pose

to finish

Ending Pose

Ending Pose

Yuna was a masterpiece in motion!

Waiting for the marks was also a sight to see!

Who does it better?

Brian?

Brian?

Or Yuna?

Or Yuna?

praying

Wait (and pray) for it...

Oh my goodness! That is ubelievable!

Tracy Wilson: Oh my goodness! That is ubelievable!

Hug it out!

and hug it out!

It didn’t take long for the news to hit Korea!

Yuna news 24/7!

Yuna news 24/7!

Remember what I said about all that pressure? Since Yuna has broken the world record for the highest Short Program score achieved under the CoP, there are a lot of expectations for her to become the first woman to break 200 points tonight.

Of all the people close to Yuna, no one understands her situation better than her coach, Brian Orser.

Grand Prix Final in Korea

Grand Prix Final in Korea

Instead of adding on to the pressure Yuna has to deal with tonight, I would like to dedicate this entry to the winning Orser-Kim partnership. Cue the Jason Wade – You Belong To Me music and get ready to awww.

Brian looking on

Brian looking on

4CC

4CC

hanging out

hanging out

the ET dance

the ET dance

an inside joke?

an inside joke?

awww

awww

Where did Brian learn this?

Where did Brian learn to do the heart?

From Yuna!

From Yuna!

From the start of her program all the way until she received her score, Yuna was, to say the least, a delight to watch!

Start

Start

Finish

Finish

For the Long Program tonight, I don’t want to lay any expectations on Yuna to break 200. I don’t want her to even think about that. I want her to do what she loves and do it the best she can. So I leave her this song to remind her to just fly out there tonight! Don’t think about what people are expecting from her, but just fly on the ice.

Epik High – Fly

Translations:

Isn’t it tough? (It’s tough) The cruel world
Will laugh at you behind your back
In front of the mirror ki gook ko
You’ll have to support yourself
Don’t know where to go
With one mistake, everything else will be lost
When your head is down, fold your hands
Spread your wings, you can fly
It’s morning when you open your eyes
The compass heads you toward the same direction
In this confident world around you
It’s not easy to kneel down and rest
Don’t forget what made you want this old dream
Elegant two arms, spread your wings, you can fly

You can fly (No matter anyone says)
Higher (I won’t ever)
Then the birds in the sky (Give up on my dream)
You can fly (No matter anyone says)
Higher (I won’t ever)
Then the birds in the sky (Give up on my dream)
Fly (My Baby) No matter what the world says
Fly, fly, get em up high,
No matter what anyone says, go go
Fly (My Baby) Even if love leaves you behind
Fly, fly get em up high…
Fly, even if you’ve got nothing
You Can Fly, even if love abruptly leaves you behind
You Can Fly, even when you’re suffocating from pain
You Can Fly You got to fly sky high!

When you open your eyes, there may not be any light
You may be a long distance away from your dream
It’s still hard to rest and breathe living my way
I turned away from reality
And still haven’t what I’ve been looking for
Don’t let a love you couldn’t receive
Bring you down, never die
Spread your wings, let’s go everybody, fly!

You can fly (No matter anyone says)
Higher (I won’t ever)
Then the birds in the sky (Give up on my dream)
You can fly (No matter anyone says)
Higher (I won’t ever)
Then the birds in the sky (Give up on my dream)
Fly (My Baby) No matter what the world says
Fly, fly, get em up high,
No matter what anyone says, go go
Fly (My Baby) Even if love leaves you behind
Fly, fly get em up high…

A lifetime dream being erased by sighs
Doors I’ve opened many times
I notice false hope when I open my eyes
Clean out the dust from every corner
Just as I thought, I’m a suitable competitor
Slowly I’ll make progress, why give up my dream?
Stay on firm ground and look far
Darker the night, brighter the stars will shine

Fly Yuna!

Fly, Yuna!

Tagged with: , , ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Karen said, on February 9, 2009 at 9:12 am

    Hi worriyuna, what a delightful blog you have! Absolutely a pleasure to read and its beautiful and terrifically classy the way you’ve placed the pictures and little clips in. I watched all of the 4CC live and the highlight for me was watching Yuna and Brian together. In fact I might have watched Brian a little more (knowing I could watch Yuna on TV later). You’ve captured their very special relationship beautifully.

    Keep it up! I’ll definitely be back to visit regularly!

  2. wooriyuna said, on February 11, 2009 at 11:43 am

    Hey Karen! Thanks for reading my blog! Yes,watching Brian was a standout highlight of 4cc.

    Thanks for the kind words about the blog!


Leave a Reply

